JSU to induct first cohort into the Academy for Research and Scholarly Engagement

(JACKSON, Miss.) — Jackson State University will hold an induction ceremony for Cohort I of the Academy for Research and Scholarly Engagement at 3 p.m. Friday, Oct. 26, in the Student Center Theater.

The first cohort includes the following 40 scholars, who represent all five colleges at JSU and the Division of Undergraduate Studies:

Dr. Mohammed Ali-Department of Technology Dr. Yu-Chun Kuo-School of Lifelong Learning
Dr. Ronica Arnold-Branson-School, Community and Rehabilitation Counseling Dr. Shonda Lawrence-School of Social Work
Dr. Pamela Banks-Department of Psychology Dr. Xejun Liang-Department of Computer Science
Dr. Azad Bhuiyan-Department of Epidemiology and Bio-Statistics Dr. Lennie Little-Center of Teacher Quality/Educational Leadership
Dr. Gloria Billingsley-Department of Public Policy and Administration Dr. Duanjun Lu-Department of Physics, Atmospheric Science and Geosciences
Dr. Dawn Bishop-McLin-Department of Psychology Dr. Robert Luckett-Department of History and Philosophy
Dr. David Bramlett-Department of Mathematics Dr. Anna Marshall-School of Social Work
Dr. Jessica Buck-Department of Technology Dr. Vershun McClain-Department of Entrepreneurship
Dr. Rico Chapman-Department of History and Philosophy Dr. Preselfannie McDaniels-Department of English and Modern Foreign Languages
Prof. Rhonda Cooper-Department of Political Science Dr. Michael Moore-Department of Psychology
Dr. Padmanava Dash-Department of Biology Dr. Benjamin Ngwudike-Department of Educational Leadership
Dr. Stephanie Davidson-Elementary and Early Childhood Education Dr. Olga Osby-School of Social Work
Dr. Monica Flippin-Wynn-Department of Mass Communications Dr. Candis Pizzetta-Department of English and Modern Foreign Languages
Dr. Regina Fults-McMurtery-School, Community and Rehabilitation Counseling Dr. Sherry Rankin-Division of Undergraduate Studies
Dr. Serguei Goupalov-Physics, Atmospheric Science and General Science Dr. J. R. Smith-Department of Management and Marketing
Dr. Theresia Johnson-Ratliff-School of Social Work Dr. Ingrad Smith-Educational Leadership
Dr. Ramzi Kafoury-Department of Biology Dr. Francis Tuluri-Department of Technology
Dr. Hyunju Kim-Department of Computer Science Dr. Deirdre Wheaton-School of Lifelong Learning
Dr. Yungkul Kim-Department of Biology Dr. Patricia Wilkerson-School of Social Work
Dr. Evornia Kincaid-Elementary and Early Childhood Education Dr. Carmen Wright-Department of Mathematics

The JSU Academy for Research and Scholarly Engagement will consist of an academic-year program that will include a series of workshops, coaching through the entire grant writing process with an individual Academy Coach, and scheduled interactions with program officers from funding agencies and foundations. Each faculty participant will be paired with an Academy Coach who is selected from active researchers at JSU.

Benefits to participants include:

  • An opportunity to significantly enhance one’s proposal writing skills;
  • Participation in a community of scholars from multiple disciplines across JSU;
  • Opportunities to interact with and obtain coaching from distinguished colleagues who have excelled in obtaining funding for their Research and Scholarly Agendas;
  • Funded opportunities to engage with program officers from federal agencies and foundations to discuss their Research and Scholarly Agenda and concept for funding; and
  • $5,000, which includes a $3,000 stipend and $2,000 for a trip to their proposed funding agency.

“President Carolyn W. Meyers has been a champion of this initiative,” said Dr. Loretta A. Moore, Associate Vice President for Academy for Research and Scholarly Engagement. “She wants to invest in faculty, and this is one of the ways she’s doing it.”

The purpose of the Academy for Research and Scholarly Engagement is to advance the careers of promising young researchers and emerging scholars by ensuring that they establish a compelling research agenda, participate in a community of scholars, and obtain external funding.

“The advancement of these scholars is part of the university’s research strategic plan and will benefit the individual scholars and the entire JSU community, including both undergraduate and graduate students,” said Dr. Felix Okojie, Vice President for Research and Federal Relations. “We expect to broaden the community of faculty members who submit proposals and receive funding as principal investigators.”

The Division of Research and Federal Relations and the Division of Academic Affairs are sponsors of the program and are working together to ensure scholars at Jackson State receive the appropriate support to broaden the university’s research agenda and enhance the faculty development activities at the institution.

“The Academy is a wonderful way to encourage and support faculty creativity,” said Dr. James C. Renick, Interim Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs. “The support of these interesting ideas has the possibility to transform the university.”

For more information, visit the Academy’s website at http://sites.jsums.edu/scholarlyengagementacademy/ or contact Dr. Loretta A. Moore at 601-979-0552 or loretta.a.moore@jsums.edu.


6 thoughts on “JSU to induct first cohort into the Academy for Research and Scholarly Engagement

  1. These folks were wisely chosen, I believe. Their past credentials already spoke out. Thanks JSU Administration for this move.

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s