McLemore says JSU’s win over Southern is a lesson for all


** Please note that the JSU vs Southern game will be re-broadcast on JSU-TV (Comcast Channel 14), Thursday, at 7:30 p.m.  For those who don’t have Comcast Cable, the game will also be streamed on the JSU website, www.jsums.edu.**

I would like to congratulate the JSU Tigers on their extraordinary victory over Southern University this past Saturday at Mississippi Veterans Memorial Stadium in Jackson. The Tigers not only beat the Jaguars 49-45, but played one of the most exhilarating games Tiger fans have possibly ever seen. Our team also provided us with a lesson we can take to the classroom: Never give up.

With 19 seconds left on the clock, the Southern Jaguars scored what many thought was the game-winning touchdown. Despite having only seconds to reverse course, the Tigers remained confident and determined to win. With 9 seconds left in the game, Tigers receiver Rico Richardson raced down the field, caught a pass from quarterback Casey Therriault and scored a touchdown with 2 seconds to spare.

I congratulate all of the coaches and players on their victory and thank them for showing us what happens when you never give up. I would also like to challenge our students, faculty and staff to keep up that same can-do attitude in their work on campus and beyond. Believe you will succeed and you will succeed. Together at Jackson State University, we can create a bridge to a brighter tomorrow.

17 thoughts on “McLemore says JSU’s win over Southern is a lesson for all

  1. Hey there! I realize this is somewhat off-topic but I needed to ask.
    Does managing a well-established website such
    as yours require a lot of work? I am completely new to running a blog but
    I do write in my diary on a daily basis. I’d like to
    start a blog so I will be able to share my own experience and feelings online.
    Please let me know if you have any kind of suggestions or tips for new aspiring blog owners.
    Thankyou!

  2. I am excited to see that JSU is going to replay the game and I hope that we can use this to market our programs and raise advertising money. We can use this game to increase revenue, increase JSU fan base, and increase or market value for major networks. Congratulation, to the team, coaches, band and staff for a great job. Go Tigers

  3. I HOPE WE GO BACK TO THE BIG GAME AND SHOW GRAMBLING STATE OR WHOEVER WE PLAY THAT WE ARE THE DESERVING OF THE HONOR TO REPRESENT THE SWAC .AS A 1972 GRADUATE OF JSU UNDER DR LESLIE MCLEMORE I HAVE ALWAYS BEEN PROUD OF MY COLLEGE WHETHER WE WIN OR LOSE .WE HAVE A LOT GOING ON AT JSU BESIDES FOOT BALL .WE HAVE SUCCESSFUL ACTIVITIES IN ALL PHASES AT OUR UNIVERSITY.

  4. i am a JSU ALUMNI .didnt make it to the game .my son and i had other plans .but i kept calling my fellow alumnis at the game .the y sounded very worried about the game at the end .then when we scored with 2 seconds they started crying and cherring at the same time.they lost their voices .they were in shock that we won .at the end they called it a heart attack game .i hate i missed it cant wait to see it on the internet.we as others thought it would be a runaway game in favor of us JSU .but when you put 2 teams together that are rivals it dont matter about the records .i hardly ever miss any JSU games .sorry i missed this one .but i am very glad that we won.im proud to be a JSU ALUMNI fan graduate of 1972.im happy for mr leslie mclemore .he was my major teacher back n the day .im happy for all the JSU family.i pray that we return to the big SWAC game AND RETURN THE FAVOR AND BRING BACK THE SWAC CHAMPIONSHIP THAT WE DESERVE.

  5. Great game. This was JSU Football in action. This was THE GAME of the year. The players were on top of their game in not giving up. Throughout the years, we have given up because of poor coaching, non-coaching, players who didn’t care, no show fans (had to in order to prove to Southern’s new Chancellor Ronald Mason) that bringing in friends and foes who knew nothing about football or themselves would only bring the programs and school down. It’s been a long time coming but finallyl here. It took a team effort and all of the coaching staff, players and all involved are working together to make JSU what it is suppose to be – a premier insitution and sports program. Keep up the team effort, support each other and continue to grow strong in what you do. It’s all about family and we will NOT let anyone else again come in and ruin it for us. The stars are in your sight, just grab hold and enjoy the ride. DON’T EVER GIVE UP. GOOD LUCK TO ALL AND SEE YOU IN THE HAM.

  6. Okay thought I’d give my view of the Battle of the Big Cats..AWESOME!!! One of the greatest games that I have ever witnessed with my own two eyes as an attendee, the atmosphere of the 40,000 plus crowd, the coaching sidelines, the teams, the bands, and even the competitiveness of the fans from the Tiger Land and Jaguar Nation. I have to give it up to the JSU football team, they never gave up and it was a fight all the way down to the last second. This was my third JSU football game and I’ve been around and done alot of traveling to HBCU Classics and home game and i’m giving props to the whole JSU family. I’ve never seen so much support from a Black College on their sporting event. Usually you go to HBCU football games and its all about looking good and fashion, but not at JSU, the fans actually cheer on their Tigers to the end. Now I can’t say the same about last year since it was a terrible football season….

    My analysis of the game: Both teams need to be pushed, JSU for having the game so close to a very poor SU football team this year (but then again it is a rival game and we know how they can be), because their offense is terrible, can’t see how they even scored so frequently and SU’s coaching staff terrible. :09 seconds and you allow an offense to travel 55 years down the field to a score in two plays, running a cover 2 defense (only 2 safeties, come on) when you know they are going to pass..TERRIBLE, SMH. That was a wonderful catch by that receiver.

    The Band Winner: Southern, they really did a number on the JSU band, it really wasn’t close and no competition there. SU did have a horrible and forgettable halftime show, and that was a pretty good halftime show by JSU’s band. I really enjoyed the show.

    But all in all, very good job to both schools for a great Saturday night, I am a GRAMBLING STATE ALUM, and we will see you all in Birmingham. We are the real “Big Cat”

  7. Okay thought I’d give my view of the Battle of the Big Cats..AWESOME!!! One of the greatest games that I have ever witnessed with my own two eyes as an attendee, the atmosphere of the 40,000 plus crowd, the coaching sidelines, the teams, the bands, and even the competitiveness of the fans from the Tiger Land and Jaguar Nation. I have to give it up to the JSU football team, they never gave up and it was a fight all the way down to the last second. This was my third JSU football game and I’ve been around and done alot of traveling to HBCU Classics and home game and i’m giving props to the whole JSU family. I’ve never seen so much support from a Black College on their sporting event. Usually you go to HBCU football games and its all about looking good and fashion, but not at JSU, the fans actually cheer on their Tigers to the end. Now I can’t say the same about last year since it was a terrible football season….

    My analysis of the game: Both teams need to be pushed, JSU for having the game so close to a very poor SU football team this year (but then again it is a rival game and we know how they can be), because their offense is terrible, can’t see how they even scored so frequently and SU’s coaching staff terrible. :09 seconds and you allow an offense to travel 55 years down the field to a score in two plays, running a cover 2 defense (only 2 safeties, come on) when you know they are going to pass..TERRIBLE, SMH. That was a wonderful catch by that receiver.

    The Band Winner: Southern, they really did a number on the JSU band, it really wasn’t close and no competition there. SU did have a horrible and forgettable halftime show, and that was a pretty good halftime show by JSU’s band. I really enjoyed the show.

    But all in all, very good job to both schools for a great Saturday night, I am a GRAMBLING STATE ALUM, and we will see you all in Birmingham. We are the real “Big Cat”

  8. The game was the best this season! So proud of our Tiger football team & coaches. They had the heart and wanted to win more than any of us 40K + in the stands! For those that where not there…you missed the battle on the field & the stands. By the way, I am loving the personality of this new band director! The game was like Drumline…band directors going at each other in the stands….loved it. Both bands were good but of course, the BOOM was better on the field than SU. Jukebox must have really been unplugged because they were not even marching even though I hate to say that the girls looked better & more organized on the field than the J-Settes this week…..not sure what happened because they are usually on point. Overall, my money was well spent for this game. GO TIGERS!! SEE YOU IN B’HAM!!!

  9. This was the game of the century!!! So proud of the football team and the coaching staff. Glad to have made the trip down. Worth the gas money I spent 🙂

  10. My daughter is in the band. Her last text to me with just a few minutes remaining had Southern leading. I just knew we had lost. When I received that last text, MY! MY! MY! To all you JSU alumni, DON’T FORGET THE BAND!

  11. Our first game for the season. What a sensation. My wife and I loved it! Our players demonstrated what it means to Never Give Up!

  12. I am a Business Education teacher in Milwaukee, WI and being able to access this site for myself and potenial students interested in JSU is fantastic. I am a graduate 1971 graduate of JSU and a member of the Alumni chapter in Wisconsin.
    Keep allowing those of us that are away to experience the thrill of being a tiger fan.

  13. The game kept me on my feet all night, and the ending, oh my gosh was awesome. This quarter back made me a believer; the defense on the other hand need not be afraid of tackling the opponents. Overall they were magnificent.

Leave a Comment

