JSU grad earns 2010 Black Engineer of the Year award


 Jackson State University civil engineering graduate Jeremy Laster has been selected to receive the 2010 Black Engineer of the Year (BEYA) Most Promising Engineer Government Award.

Laster works as a structural engineer for the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers New Orleans District. He graduated from Jackson State in 2007.

In the BEYA Award’s 24-year history, less than 700 professionals have achieved the distinction of being a Black Engineer of the Year honoree.

Laster, a native of Bay Springs, Miss., will receive the award at the BEYA STEM Global Competitiveness Conference on Feb. 20, 2010, in Baltimore.

Jackson State’s undergraduate civil engineering program is fully accredited by the Engineering Commission of the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology.

16 thoughts on “JSU grad earns 2010 Black Engineer of the Year award

  1. Timely post ! I was enlightened by the analysis – Does anyone know if I can find a template IRS 940 version to work with ?

  2. Hi Jeremy, I would like to send you many, many praises and best wishes on your success. JSU is very proud of you especially as a young black man. 🙂 Keep up the awesome work and may God bless you and keep you!

  3. Congratulations! My daughter Tahirih Lackey ’97 of ERDC won for 2009 and now you in 2010. This says a lot for you, her, and of course JSU. When graduates shine, all of us bask in the glory of your achievement. You have made our day! Keep up the great work. Our alumni will be at the BEYA Awards Ceremony to cheer you on!

  4. Hi Jeremy, I never met you until now. I want to say young people like you make us moms and dads very proud and want go back to school as well.I’m 42 years old and I was looking for a online school to get my High School Diploma and seeing your achievements brings tears to my eyes. I only had two years left in school but dropped out. I realize now just because I had a child I could have still succeeded my goals in life. I blame no one but myself and seeing your success. I will succeed. Congratulations 🙂

  5. Congratulations Jeremy! Way to go out into the workforce and establish the Jackson State Civil Engineering Program as a premier and growing. Guarantee that 20 of the seniors, juniors, and sophomore will be in Baltimore in February 2010 to share with you in this great accomplishment. Again, congratulations!!!

  6. Congratulations Jeremy. You have made your Tiger family very proud of you. Remember tiger families are everywhere, just ask and you will see. JSU is the best university in the South, thanks to alumni like you…..

  7. Congrats J Laster! Man I’m so proud of you. A great look for JSU! May God continue to bless you. Man I’ll will see you in Baltimore!

  8. Congratulations Jeremy……. I’m very proud of you. Keep up the good work and may GOD bless you throughout your career.

  9. Jeremy, I am very proud of you. This type of recognition makes me love my job as a teacher more and more each day. I remember your sitting in my classroom as one of the most respecful and bright young men to come through Bay Sorings High School. You continue to make your mark and let people in Bay Springs know that they CAN, also!!!

  10. Congratulations Jeremy! As a future graduate, it’s always great to look at someone who’s pushing into the professional realm with an overwhelming BOOM! Again, congratulations.

    • Outstanding! You have a bright future ahead of you. Keep working hard and life will reward you well. Always remember JSU and the role that it played in your success.

Leave a Comment

