JSU National Alumni Association selects outstanding alumni for Hall of Fame

Dollye RobinsonThe Jackson State University National Alumni Association has selected JSU College of Liberal Arts dean Dollye M.E. Robinson, retired professional football player Lem Barney and 2008 JSU Alumnus of the Year Milton Austin to be inducted into the Jackson State University Alumni Hall of Fame. The Hall of Fame ceremony will be held during the homecoming class reunion luncheon on Friday, Nov. 6, in the JSU Student Center. Association president Hilliard L. Lackey, III also will be honored as the “Alumnus of the Year.”

Robinson received a bachelors degree in music from Jackson State in 1947 and earned graduate degrees in trumpet and music education from Northwestern University. She has also studied at Boston College of Music. She served as the university’s first assistant band director under the legendary William W. Davis. Robinson has provided 57 years of service to Jackson State, the longest of any employee. The College of Liberal Arts building bears her name.

Barney received a bachelors degree in health and science from Jackson State in 1967. His 10-year career in the NFL earned him “Rookie of the Year” in 1967, induction into the NFL Hall of Fame in 1992, and induction into the Afro-American Sports Hall of Fame. His jersey (No. 20) has been retired by the Detroit Lions. He also earned a gold record for background vocals ist on Marvin Gaye’s record “What’s Going On.” Barney is employed by Mel Farr Automotive Group.

Austin, who earned his bachelors degree in political science from JSU in 1971, was a member of the university’s first ROTC class. Austin has held numerous alumni offices at the national and local levels including the president of the Houston Area Alumni Chapter and second vice-president of the JSU National Alumni Association. He is a gift club member and has established an endowed scholarship fund at the university. Austin is employed by the Department of Veterans Affairs in Houston, Texas.

“The JSUNAA Hall of Fame Awards Committee is delighted to honor these distinguished alumni for their outstanding contributions to Jackson State University and in the community,” said committee chairman Rose Austin. “The Hall of Fame is the highest honor bestowed upon a JSU alumnus by the JSU National Alumni Association. We look forward to celebrating with them during the awards ceremony.”

Hall of Fame recipients must have made significant contributions in their professions, be nationally or locally recognized, be 15-year graduates and be financial contributors to the university and/or alumni association. All “Alumnus of the Year” awardees and alumni national presidents are automatically inducted into the Hall of Fame. The selection is made by a Board of Selectors comprising both alumni and non-alumni.

Admission to the luncheon is $40 for class members who graduated in years ending in 4 or 9, and $25 for non-members.

For more information, contact LaShonda D. Levy at 601-979-1634 or lashonda.d.levy@jsums.edu or Gwen Caples, executive director of the JSU National Alumni Association and director of the JSU Office of Alumni and Constituency Relations 601-979-2281 or gwendolyn.caples@jsums.edu.


Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s